Other Archive Resources

Find regional historic information on Minnesota, the Red River Valley and North Dakota including, genealogy, economy, government, culture, state map and flag and major cities.

Regional historic information on Minnesota including, economy, government, culture, state map and flag, major cities, points of interest, famous residents, state motto and symbols.

  • Pre-Settlement History of the Red River Valley
    An overview of the European exploration and early trade in the Valley, prior to the 1870s.
  • A Basic Bibliography for Minnesota History
    This bibliography is arranged by topic, following the general chronology of the history of Minnesota, from pre-history to late 20th century. Each topic is appended by a list of books and articles about that topic. Links to documents and other sites in Minnesota history are also provided for some of the topics.
  • Central Minnesota Historical Center
    Located in St. Cloud, this center collects primary and secondary sources of history of central Minnesota in order to preserve these materials and to make them available for the use of students, scholars and interested citizens. Counties represented are Aitkin, Benton, Chisago, Crow Wing, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, Wadena, and Wright.
  • Iron Range Research Center
    Located in Chisholm, Minnesota, this research center focuses on the regional, local and personal history of Minnesota's iron ranges and the people who settled here.
  • Minnesota Historical Center
    The Minnesota Historical Society, located in St. Paul, Minnesota, is a private, non-profit educational and cultural institution established in 1849 to preserve and share Minnesota history.
  • Northeast Minnesota Historical Center
    This regional archives located in Duluth, Minnesota, is maintained jointly by the University of Minnesota-Duluth and the St. Louis County Historical Society. Materials document the history of Carlton, Cook, Lake, and St. Louis Counties.
  • Southern Minnesota Historical Center
    Located in Mankato, Minnesota, this center focuses on historical information regarding southern Minnesota, especially the counties of Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, Freeborn, Le Sueur, Martin, Nicollet, Rice, Sibley, Steele, Waseca, and Watonwan.
  • Southwest Minnesota Regional Research Center
    This center, located in Marshall, Minnesota, began in 1972 and is the official public records repository for the following counties of southwestern Minnesota: Cottonwood, Jackson, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Rock, and Yellow Medicine.
  • West Central Minnesota Historical Research Center
    Established in 1971 in Morris, Minnesota, materials from Big Stone, Chippewa, Douglas, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Swift, and Traverse counties are included in the collections.

A series of archival collections profiling the resources available in area museums, historical societies and colleges, for historical and genealogical research.

  • Concordia College, Moorhead
    The Archives contains records pertaining to the history and administration of Concordia College. These include the general administrative records of the college, including correspondence of faculty and administrators, and records of committees and departments. Records of student organizations, including clubs and societies, are also preserved, as are publications about Concordia and its history.
  • Flood of 1997 in the Red River Valley
    The collection includes transcripts of interviews with 40 individuals, discussing aspects of recovery from the flood that occurred in April 1997. These and additional materials on flood recovery are described in the Center's special guide, The Flood of 1997 in the Red River Valley. See also the Center's website exhibit on flood recovery.
  • Historical and Cultural Society of Clay County
    The Historical and Cultural Society of Clay County collects both manuscript materials and artifacts dealing with the history of the county. These collections are preserved in the Hjemkomst Center in Moorhead. Some artifacts are used in the Society’s historical displays on the lower level of the Center (the vast majority of artifacts – including clothing, furniture, tools, household implements, and thousands of other items – are kept in storage at the Center).
  • Institute for Regional Studies, North Dakota State University
    The Institute for Regional Studies collection holds information on the history North Dakota State University, the Red River Valley, the state of North Dakota, the plains of North America (comprising both the Great Plains of the United States and the prairies of Canada), and comparable regions of other continents.
  • Otter Tail County Historical Society
    The Otter Tail County Historical Society library is known at the E. T. Barnard Library. Their archives was named in honor of Ann Smalley Jordan. The Society collects and preserves both manuscript materials and artifacts dealing with the history of the county. Archival materials include: books, biography and history files, school records, personal papers, organizational records, business records, church files, village files, township histories, government records, tax lists, platbooks, maps, newspapers and photographs.
  • Pre-Settlement History of the Red River Valley
    An overview of the European exploration and early trade in the Valley, prior to the 1870s.
  • University of North Dakota
    The UND Archives preserves and houses historical materials significant to the Red River Valley, North Dakota, Grand Forks and the University.