Awarded Institution, Faculty & Students


Minnesota State University Moorhead is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission to offer undergraduate four-year college programs leading to Baccalaureate degrees, and at the Doctoral, Specialist, and Master's degrees levels.

Learn more about MSUM’s accreditation and certifications.

Award-Winning Professors

MSUM has 11 Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) Professors of the Year, which is more than any other college or university, public or private, in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa or Wisconsin.

MSUM’s Minnesota Professors of the Year (in bold are current MSUM professors):

  • Kyja Kristjansson-Nelson, 2014, film studies
  • Brian Wisenden, 2013, biosciences
  • Russ Colson, (also the Outstanding U.S. Master’s Universities and Colleges Professor) 2010, anthropology and Earth science
  • Martin Grindeland, 2008, mass communications
  • Ellen Brisch, 2007, biosciences
  • Mark Wallert, 2005, biosciences
  • Jim Bartruff, 2001, theatre arts
  • Andrew Conteh, 1999, political science
  • David Mason, 1994, English
  • Evelyn C. Lynch, 1992, education
  • Delmar J. Hansen (deceased), 1987, theatre arts

Learn more about this distinction:

Successful Students Stories