Planetarium Public Shows

  • A wide variety of regularly scheduled public shows exploring the night sky will tantalize your curiosity and let you escape to another world. MSUM planetarium shows are affordable, family-friendly and offered year-round.

    All public shows are presented in the MSUM planetarium, located on campus.

    What's Up A Monthly Night Sky Tour

    What’s Up?! A Monthly Night Sky Tour

    Want to know what you can see in the sky this month? Don’t want to miss out on celestial events like meteor showers? This is the show for you! Each month we will take a tour of what you can find in our sky for that month and what to look for. We will show you how to use a sky map and suggest free apps that also work well.

    Tuesday, November 5, 6:30 pm
    Tuesday, December 3, 6:30 pm
    Tuesday, January 7, 6:30 pm
    Tuesday, February 4, 6:30 pm
    Tuesday, March 3, 6:30 pm
    Tuesday, April 7, 6:30 pm
    Tuesday, May 5, 6:30 pm

    Buy Tickets

    Space Quest Planetarium Show

    Space Quest

    Become a co-pilot on a space adventure and choose your own destinations! Every show is different because the audience is the guide! Pick from various topics in astronomy- Planets & Solar System, Galactic and Intergalactic space, Space travel, current topics in astronomy, backyard astronomy, and more!

    Saturday, October 5, 10:00 am
    Sunday, October 6, 3:00 pm
    Saturday, November 2, 10:00 am
    Sunday, November 3, 3:00 pm
    Saturday, December 7, 10:00 am
    Sunday, December 8, 3:00 pm
    Saturday, January 11, 10:00 am
    Sunday, January 12, 3:00 pm
    Saturday, February 1, 10:00 am
    Sunday, February 2, 3:00 pm
    Saturday, March 7, 10:00 am
    Sunday, March 8, 3:00 pm
    Saturday, April 4, 10:00 am
    Sunday, April 5, 3:00 pm
    Saturday, May 2, 10:00 am
    Sunday, May 3, 3:00 pm

    Buy Tickets

    The Past, Present, and Future of the Telescope

    Saturday, November 9, 10:00 am
    Sunday, November 10, 3:00 pm

    Constellations for Kids

    Looking to learn about all those shapes in our night sky? Bring your kids to the planetarium to learn how to find some familiar shapes and some not so familiar. Hear some of the stories behind these sky characters as well!

    Saturday, November 16, 10:00 am

    Constellations of Camp Half-Blood

    Join us as we take a tour through the stars and stories behind the constellations we see in terms of Percy Jackson’s world. Find your favorite heroes (and villains) in our night sky.

    Sunday, November 17, 3:00 pm

    Worlds Unknown The Exoplanets Planetarium Show

    Worlds Unknown: The Exoplanets

    Learn about planets beyond our solar system and techniques astronomers use to find them. This show was produced by the Casper Planetarium and is a winner of the Associazione dei Planetari Italiani Planetarium Video Competition.

    Saturday, November 23, 10:00 am
    Sunday, November 24, 3:00 pm

    Khrumkas Adventures in the Winter Forest Planetarium Show

    Khrumka’s Adventures in the Winter Forest

    Join little Khrumka on a journey through his normally familiar forest which is now covered in winter snows. Khrumka and his friends watch the Northern Lights, witness the flight of an asteroid, and admire the constellations of the winter sky.

    Friday, December 13, 6:00 pm
    Friday, December 20, 6:00 pm

    Season of Light Planetarium Show

    Season of Light

    Get in the holiday spirit! This all ages show traces the history of many of the world’s December holiday customs, recounting the historical, religious and cultural rituals practiced during the time of winter solstice. It also takes a look at some of our more light-hearted seasonal traditions.

    Friday, December 13, 7:00 pm
    Friday, December 20, 7:00 pm

    Star of Bethlehem Planetarium Show

    Star of Bethlehem

    The show takes you back to the little town of Bethlehem of long ago, in the endeavor to investigate what was the “Star”, that guided the Wise Men. The Star of Bethlehem presents all the historical and scientific facts we know today in order to unravel this 2.000-year old enigma.

    Friday, December 13, 8:00 pm
    Friday, December 20, 8:00 pm

    Solar System Explorers Planetarium Show

    Solar System Explorers

    Grab your space passport and adventure with us to the far-off reaches of our Solar System. Visit each planet and get a planet sticker for your passport. Fill in all the planets and you become an official Solar System Explorer! Each month will feature different planets to visit but we will also take a look at what is up in our sky for that month.

    • Tour 1
      Keep your feet firmly on the ground to start. Every explorer needs to start somewhere, and sometimes it is good to take things a little easy at first. Let's look at what we can see from our own planet, Earth. We'll check out the Sun, the Moon and the constellations too. Don't worry, we will get to test out our shuttle on a visit to the Moon!
    • Tour 2
      And we're off! Let's go visit the ROCKY planets in our Solar System, starting with the planet closest to our star, Mercury! We will also tour Venus, stop and take a look at our own Earth, and end up on Mars!
    • Tour 3
      Up next, the GAS GIANTS! Let's see just what is so special about the largest planets in our Solar System! Why do they look the way they do? What are they made of? We will visit Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, & Neptune.
    • Tour 4
      Last but not least, we have the DWARF Planets! Pluto is one of the most well known of the dwarf planets in our Solar System, but there are several more! We can also check out the asteroid belt and some of the more interesting moons around other planets.

    If you have successfully completed THREE OF FOUR TOURS, you will be awarded the Solar System Explorer Certificate and badge. Congratulations! You are now officially a Solar System Explorer!

    Twinkle Tots (3-5 years old)

    Tour 1: January 25, 10 am
    Tour 2: February 23, 10 am
    Tour 3: March 28, 10 am
    Tour 4: April 25, 10 am

    Space Cadets (6-10 years old)

    Tour 1: January 26, 3 pm
    Tour 2: February 24, 3 pm
    Tour 3: March 29, 3 pm
    Tour 4: April 26, 3 pm

    Buy Tickets

    Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons

    Saturday, March 21
    Sunday, March 22