More Information.
More details.Hide details.

Northwest Minnesota Historical Center

  • Print
  • Minnesota History

    • Pre-Settlement History of the Red River Valley - An overview of the European exploration and early trade in the Valley, prior to the 1870s.
    • A Basic Bibliography for Minnesota History - This bibliography is arranged by topic, following the general chronology of the history of Minnesota, from pre-history to late 20th century.  Each topic is appended by a list of books and articles about that topic.  Links to documents and other sites in Minnesota history are also provided for some of the topics.
    • Central Minnesota Historical Center - Located in St. Cloud, this center collects primary and secondary sources of history of central Minnesota in order to preserve these materials and to make them available for the use of students, scholars and interested citizens.  Counties represented are Aitkin, Benton, Chisago, Crow Wing, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, Wadena, and Wright.
    • Iron Range Research Center - Located in Chisholm, Minnesota, this research center focuses on the regional, local and personal history of Minnesota's iron ranges and the people who settled here.
    • Minnesota Historical Center - The Minnesota Historical Society, located in St. Paul, Minnesota, is a private, non-profit educational and cultural institution established in 1849 to preserve and share Minnesota history.
    • Northeast Minnesota Historical Center - This regional archives located in Duluth, Minnesota, is maintained jointly by the University of Minnesota-Duluth and the St. Louis County Historical Society.  Materials document the history of Carlton, Cook, Lake, and St. Louis Counties.
    • Northwest Minnesota Historical Center - History and culture of the Red River Valley of the North is collected and preserved at this center, located in Moorhead, Minnesota.  Counties represented are Becker, Clay, Kittson, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau and Wilkin.
    • Southern Minnesota Historical Center - Located in Mankato, Minnesota, this center focuses on historical information regarding southern Minnesota, especially the counties of Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, Freeborn, Le Sueur, Martin, Nicollet, Rice, Sibley, Steele, Waseca, and Watonwan.
    • Southwest Minnesota Regional Research Center - This center, located in Marshall, Minnesota, began in 1972 and is the official public records repository for the following counties of southwestern Minnesota: Cottonwood, Jackson, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Rock, and Yellow Medicine.
    • West Central Minnesota Historical Research Center - Established in 1971 in Morris, Minnesota, materials from Big Stone, Chippewa, Douglas, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Swift, and Traverse counties are included in the collections.