• Scholarships - Mathematics


  • iconShare  
  • Scholarships in the Mathematics Department for the 2015 - 2016 Academic Year

    The Mathematics Department awarded over $8,000 in scholarships and awards for the 2014-15 academic year and expects to award even more for the 2015-16 academic year. In order to be a recipient of some of these awards you must apply. See each application for deadlines. Students can also apply for general university scholarships through the Financial Aid and Scholarship Office.

    Scholarships requiring Applications

    • Freshman Mathematics Scholarship ($500) 
      • Awarded to first-year mathematics majors (renewable for a second year if a minimum GPA of 3.0 is maintained in mathematics courses along with continued progress toward a mathematics degree). Requirements: An ACT Math sub-score of 30 or more or an equivalent score on the PSAT/SAT and Official Admittance to MSUM. See application form for details.
    • Tim and Kathy Peil Mathematics Scholarship (award amount varies) 
      • Awarded to math majors who have demonstrated a record of involvement in mathematical service and professional development activities. Requirements: Minimum GPA and activity requirements are based on the applicant’s standing in the major. See application form for details.
    • Ken Garland Mathematics Scholarship ($1,000 award) 
      • Awarded to a mathematics major with freshman, sophomore, or junior standing who plans to pursue a career as a teacher of mathematics at either the K-12 level or college level. Requirements: Must have declared a mathematics major. The award will be given to a student who shows promise of becoming an excellent classroom teacher. See application form for details.
    • Shelda Warren Math Education Endowed Scholarship ($500 award) 
      • Awarded to a mathematics major pursuing the Math Education emphasis. Preference will be given to students with significant experience as a MSUM Math Department tutor. Requirements: Must have declared a Math Education Emphasis, passed the Basic Skills Tests, and formal admission into the MSUM Teaching Program. See application form for details.
    • Marion V. Smith Math Scholarship ($500 award) 
      • Awarded to a student pursuing a degree in Actuarial Science.  Requirements: Must have declared Actuarial Science major. See application form for details.
    • Bill Ritchie Award for Excellence in Mathematics ($500 or greater) 
      • Awarded to a student graduating during the 2014-2015 academic year who has been accepted to study mathematics at a graduate school. Requirements: Must provide evidence of admission to a graduate program. See application form for details.
    • MSUM Mathematics Department Endowed Student Scholarship
      • 3.0 GPA
    • MSUM Mathematics Scholarship
    • MSUM Mathematics Education Scholarship
    • MSUM Mathematics Dept. Annual Student Scholarship

    Other Awards and Scholarships

    The Mathematics Department awards several thousand dollars with of merit-based scholarships to students based on nominations and/or recommendations from faculty advisors. These scholarships include:

    • Katherine Leonard Endowed Scholarship
    • James Wallen Endowed Scholarship (seniors)
    • Rothmann Family Scholarship (upperclass)
    • Other merit-based scholarships and awards for students at the freshman, sophomore, junior, and senior level