Meet the Graduate Faculty & Staff

  • You’ll learn from graduate faculty who bring a wealth of real-world experience and scholarly expertise to the classroom. They are committed to being flexible in accommodating your work, life and school responsibilities.

    The following Graduate Faculty at MSU Moorhead are eligible to teach graduate-level courses (600 and 700 level), advise graduate students, chair and/or serve on graduate student committees, and be appointed to the Graduate Council. Appointment to the Graduate Faculty is for a six-year term.

  • Anna Arnar
    PhD, MA, BA
    Professor
    School of Art
    Anna Sigrídur Arnar is a Professor of Art History in the Sch...
    arnar@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4631
    Office: CA 201E
    John Benson
    PhD, MA, BS, BA
    Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    bensonj@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2012
    Office: LO 214E
    Rochelle Bergstrom
    PhD
    Professor
    Psychology Department
    I began teaching at MSUM in 2005, after earning a Ph.D. in S...
    bergstro@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4084
    Office: BR 360E
    Nandita Bezbaruah
    PhD, MSW, MPA, BA
    Assistant Professor
    School of Social Work
    nandita.bezbaruah@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2190
    Office: LO 114C
    Yurii Boreisha
    PhD, MA, BS
    Professor
    Computer Science and Information Systems Department
    boreisha@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2389
    Office: BR 160B
    Deanne Borgeson
    PhD, MS, BS
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    borgeson@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2002
    Office: LO 216E
    Boyd Bradbury
    PhD
    Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    bradbury@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2471
    Office: LO 214N
    Magdalene Chalikia
    PhD
    Professor
    Psychology Department
    I am an Experimental Psychologist with a Ph. D. from McGill...
    chalikia@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4082
    Office: BR 360H
    Layna Cole
    PhD, MS, BA
    Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    colela@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2545
    Office: LO 216J
    Russell Colson
    PhD, BS
    Professor
    Anthropology and Earth Science Department
    Professor of Geology; Ph.D., Geological Sciences, University...
    colson@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.5832
    Office: KH 201
    Michael Coquyt
    MA, BA
    Assistant Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    michael.coquyt@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2019
    Office: LO 216C
    Kandace Creel Falcon
    PhD
    Associate Professor
    History, Languages, Critical Race and Women's Studies, Department of
    Kandace Creel Falcón, Ph.D. earned her doctorate degree in F...
    kandace.creel@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4075
    Office: MA 175
    Konrad Czynski
    PhD, MPhil, MA
    Professor of Humanities
    Philosophy Department
    Konrad Czynski, Professor, has several graduate degrees from...
    czynski@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4666
    Office: MA 279P
    Rinita Dalan
    Faculty, Anthropology
    Anthropology and Earth Science Department
    Chair and Professor of Anthropology; Ph.D., Ancient Studies,...
    dalanri@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.5900
    Office: KH 104
    Debra DeMinck
    EdD, MS, BA, LPCC
    Associate Professor
    University Studies
    deminckd@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4273
    Office: FR 154
    Keri DeSutter
    PhD, MS, BA
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    desutter@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.5942
    Office: LO 211H
    Travis Dolence
    MLS, MS, BA
    Distance Learning/Web Librarian, Professor
    Library
    travis.dolence@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2358
    Office: LI 117
    Mary Dosch
    PhD, PsyS, MS, BA
    Associate Professor
    Psychology Department
    I received my undergraduate degree in psychology at MSUM, re...
    doschma@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2977
    Office: BR 360O
    Mary Drake
    MA, BS
    Associate Professor
    Speech Language Hearing Sciences
    drakema@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.5953
    Office: MU 223D
    Mohamed Elbannan
    PhD, MS, BS
    Associate Professor
    Paseka School of Business
    mohamed.elbannan@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2594
    Office: CB 204C
    Sheri Erickson
    PhD, MBA, BS
    Professor
    Paseka School of Business
    erickson@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4073
    Office: CB 204B
    Laura Fasick
    PhD, MA, BA
    Professor
    English Department
    fasick@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4679
    Office: WE 208
    Rhonda Ficek
    PhD
    Professor
    Computer Science and Information Systems Department
    ficek@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2339
    Office: BR 160F
    Wendy Frappier
    PhD
    Professor
    Health and Physical Education Department
    frappier@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2314
    Office: NZ 103B
    Peter Geib
    PhD, MA, BA
    Professor
    Paseka School of Business
    geib@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4657
    Office: CB 207K
    Erin Gillett
    PhD
    Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    gillett@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4330
    Office: LO 216D
    Marci Glessner
    PhD, MS
    Assistant Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    marci.glessner@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2727
    Office: LO 214J
    Stephen Hamrick
    PhD, MA, BA
    Professor
    English Department
    stephen.hamrick@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4687
    Office: WE 230
    Tonya Hansen
    PhD, MS, BS
    Professor
    Economics, Law and Politics, Department of
    hansentj@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4030
    Office: MA 380J
    Bruce Hanson
    MA, BS
    Associate Professor
    Speech Language Hearing Sciences
    hansonbr@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4641
    Office: MU 223E
    Thomas Hanson
    PhD, CFA, MBA, MS
    Assistant Professor
    Paseka School of Business
    thomas.hanson@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4069
    Office: CB 207O
    Timothy Harms
    PhD
    Professor
    Mathematics Department
    Tim Harms, Professor, Mathematics Education; Ph.D. Education...
    harms@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4016
    Office: MA 375F
    Linda Houts-Smith
    PhD
    Associate Professor
    History, Languages, Critical Race and Women's Studies, Department of
    Linda Houts-Smith, Associate Professor and Program Coordinat...
    houtsli@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4059
    Office: MA 279B
    Lisa Karch
    PhD, MEd, BA
    Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
    Counseling and Student Affairs | Graduate Studies
    Ph.D., LPC, NCC, NCSC; Lisa brings eight years of being a li...
    lisa.karch@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2699
    Office: LO 113H
    Wooyang Kim
    Assistant Professor
    Paseka School of Business
    wooyang.kim@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2268
    Office: CB 207D
    Kyja Kristjansson-Nelson
    MFA
    Professor
    School of Media Arts and Design
    Kyja Kristjansson-Nelson’s films have screened at festivals...
    kyja.nelson@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4624
    Office: CA 31
    Vinod Lall
    PhD, MS, BS
    Professor
    Paseka School of Business
    Co-Chair
    lall@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4648
    Office: CB 207B
    Ok-Hee Lee
    Dean of the College of Education and Human Service
    College of Education and Human Services
    okheelee@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2096
    Office: LO 107
    Ruth Lumb
    PhD, MBA, BA
    Professor
    Paseka School of Business
    lumb@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4652
    Office: CB 207G
    Lynn Mahlum
    PhD
    Director of Field Experiences and SARTE | Adjunct Faculty
    School of Teaching and Learning
    Student teaching and practicum experiences, Student Teaching...
    mahlumly@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2256
    Office: LO 211E
    Christine Malone
    PhD, MA
    Professor
    Psychology Department
    I am currently Chair and Professor of Psychology. I have bee...
    malonech@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2804
    Office: BR 360G
    Sheila Marquardt
    PhD, MA, BA
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    sheila.marquardt@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2896
    Office: LO 216Q
    Barbara Matthees
    PhD, MPH, RN, CNE
    Professor
    School of Nursing and Healthcare Leadership
    Chair, School of Nursing & Healthcare Leadership | Professor...
    matthees@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2695
    Office: LO 213
    Olivia Melroe
    EdD, MS, NCSP
    Professor
    Psychology Department
    I am a graduate of MSU Moorhead’s school psychology program...
    melroe@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4083
    Office: BR 359B
    Kim Mollberg
    MS, BS
    Associate Professor
    Paseka School of Business
    mollberg@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4647
    Office: CB 207E
    Elizabeth Nawrot
    PhD, MA, BS
    Professor
    Psychology Department
    I have a Ph.D in Psychology from the University of Californi...
    nawrot@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4079
    Office: BR 360K
    Gary Nickell
    PhD, MS
    Professor
    Psychology Department
    I have been a professor at MSUM since 1982. I received my Ph...
    nickellg@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4080
    Office: BR 360J
    Carol Okigbo
    PhD, MEd, MA, BS
    Professor
    Mathematics Department
    okigbo@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2188
    Office: MA 375X
    Atif Osmani
    PhD, MS, BSE
    Assistant Professsor
    Paseka School of Business | Professional Management Department
    atif.osmani@mnstate.edu | 218-477-2489
    Office: HA 211F
    Eduardo Pablo
    PhD, MA
    Assistant Professor
    Paseka School of Business
    eduardo.pablo@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4655
    Office: CB 207P
    Nancy Paul
    PhD, MS, CCC-SLP
    Professor
    Speech Language Hearing Sciences
    paulnan@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4642
    Office: MU 223F
    Margaret (Peg) Potter
    PhD, NCSP
    Professor
    Psychology Department
    I am a School Psychologist (Ph.D., University of Minnesota)....
    potter@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2805
    Office: BR 360N
    Elaine Pyle
    MS, CCC-SLP
    Assistant Professor
    Speech Language Hearing Sciences
    pyleel@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2393
    Office: MU 223B
    Raymond Rea
    MFA
    Professor
    School of Media Arts and Design
    rea@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4621
    Office: CA 30
    Peggy Rittenhouse
    PhD, MS, BME
    Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    rittenps@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2004
    Office: LO 216P
    Rebecca Rudel
    PhD, MSN, RN, PHN, CNE
    Professor
    School of Nursing and Healthcare Leadership
    Program Coordinator, RN-BSN Program | Professor | PhD, MSN,...
    rebecca.rudel@mnstate.edu | Phone: 701.361.1485
    Office: LO 213D
    Sharon Scapple
    PhD, MSEd, BA
    Professor
    English Department
    scapple@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4673
    Office: WE 204
    Brandi Sillerud
    DNP, MSN, RN, NEA-BC
    Associate Professor
    School of Nursing and Healthcare Leadership
    Program Coordinator, Masters of Health Administration | Asso...
    brandi.sillerud@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.205.6781
    Office: LO 216M
    Jitendra Singh
    DHSC, MHA, BDS
    Assistant Professor | Program Coordinator
    School of Nursing and Healthcare Leadership
    Certified in Lean Process Improvement Methodology & Online T...
    jitendra.singh@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2693
    Office: LO 213B
    Leonard Sliwoski
    PhD, MA, BS
    Professor
    Paseka School of Business
    sliwoski@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2666
    Office: CB 207C
    Brian Smith
    PhD, MAT, BS, AA
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    Brian Smith, Associate Professor, Educational Foundations; P...
    brian.smith@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2697
    Office: LO 216K
    Lisa Stewart
    PhD, NCSP
    Professor
    Psychology Department
    I teach in the graduate School Psychology Program and also t...
    stewart@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4081
    Office: BR 359E
    Nancy Stock
    DNP, MS, APRN-CNP, FNP-BC, ENP-BC
    Assistant Professor
    School of Nursing and Healthcare Leadership
    Assistant Professor | DNP, RN, FNP-BC, ENP-BC | Online
    nancy.stock@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4699
    Office: LO 213
    Donna Stockrahm
    PhD, MS, BS
    Professor
    Biosciences Department
    Educational history: B.Sc. Marian College, M.Sc. University...
    stockram@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2576
    Office: HA 407S
    Mary Stone
    PhD, CMA
    Associate Professor
    Paseka School of Business
    Co-Chair, Accounting
    stone@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4660
    Office: CB 204I
    Thomas Strait
    DA, MM, BME
    Professor
    School of Performing Arts
    Dr. Tom Strait is currently in his twelfth year on the facul...
    straitth@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4096
    Office: CA 102C
    Ximena Suarez-Sousa
    PhD
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    suarez@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2007
    Office: LO 211D
    Julie Swaggert
    EdD, MS, BA
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    julie.swaggert@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2898
    Office: LO 214D
    Sean Taylor
    PhD
    Professor
    History, Languages, Critical Race and Women's Studies, Department of
    I have always loved history. I grew up in New England surrou...
    sean.taylor@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2814
    Office: MA 374G
    Lee Vigilant
    PhD, MA, BA
    Professor
    Sociology and Criminal Justice Department
    vigilant@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2034
    Office: LO 212J
    William Violet
    JD, MACC, MBA, BA
    Professor
    Paseka School of Business
    violetbi@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4074
    Office: CB 204A
    Stacy Voeller
    MS, BA
    Professor
    Library
    voeller@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2348
    Office: LI 118
    Kris Vossler
    PhD, MS, CCC-SLP
    Associate Professor
    Speech Language Hearing Sciences
    kris.vossler@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4200
    Office: MU 223G
    Alison Wallace
    PhD, BA
    Professor
    Biosciences Department
    Education history: B.A. in Biology, St. Olaf College; Ph.D....
    wallacea@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2843
    Office: HA 407P
    Karla Wenger
    OAS Principal, Graduate Studies
    Graduate Studies
    wengerk@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2344
    Office: LO 107
    Pam Werre
    MLS, MS
    Curriculum Materials Librarian
    Library
    werrepa@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.5818
    Office: LI 205
    Deborah White
    Faculty
    Sociology and Criminal Justice Department
    whitede@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2041
    Office: LO 212C
    Brian Wisenden
    PhD, MSc, BSc
    Professor, Department Chair
    Biosciences Department
    Education history: B.Sc. University of Guelph, M.Sc. Lakehea...
    wisenden@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.5001
    Office: HA 407O
    Tracy Wright
    PhD, RN-BC, CNE
    Professor
    School of Nursing and Healthcare Leadership
    Program Coordinator, Graduate Nursing | Professor | PhD, MSN...
    wrighttr@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.766.2336
    Office: LO 213