Film Studies Scholarships

  • The School of Media Arts & Design has a generous scholarship program. A cumulative GPA of 3.0 and outstanding achievement in academics, artistic/creative activities, or department service are required to be eligible for the scholarships to Animation, Film Production, Film Studies, Graphic Communications and Graphic Design. The deadline for applying is usually around mid-February. Please see the application for specific details and deadlines. Students can apply for university scholarships through the online scholarship application.

    Freshman Scholarship


    1. You will declare a major in the School of Media Arts & Design (Animation, Film Production, Film Studies, Graphic Communications and Graphic Design). You will actively participate in departmental co-curricular activities.
    2. You will actively participate in departmental co-curricular activities.

    Department Scholarships


    1. You must be enrolled in the School of Media Arts & Design
    2. You must have a GPA of 3.0 or above.
    3. You should be involved in department activities

    Scholarships Offered

  • Awarded to students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the areas of Animation, Film Production, Film Studies, Graphic Communications and Graphic Design.

    The Delmar J. Hansen Scholarships are made possible by donations to the Delmar J. Hansen endowment fund by faculty, staff, alumni, and friends of the department. This scholarship recognizes outstanding academic achievement as well as contributions to the Theatre Arts, Film Production and Film Studies majors and the community through leadership and active participation in events and organizations.

    Requirements: 90+ credits, 3.0, active in department and/or community.

    The Carol Gaede Scholarship Award was established to honor Dr. Carol Gaede for her long-standing commitment to excellence and learning in the disciplines of Communication Studies, Film Studies, and Theatre Arts. A financial award that honors academic, artistic/creative, and/or service achievement in a student who is a declared major in the Communication Studies, Film Studies, and Theatre Arts Department.

    Requirements: Less than 64 credits, 3.0 GPA, creativity and service to community.

    These scholarships in Theatre and Film is an endowed fund which was established in memory of Mark Robert Lukac, who was a member in good standing of the MSUM Class of 1991 at the time of his sudden, accidental death on April 8, 1990. This scholarship shall be awarded to a major who is studying theatre or film on the basis of the following:

    • General artistic creativity
    • Acting ability
    • Desire to be a performer
    • Number of student theatre, film, and/or television performances, with quality of performance more important than level of the role
    • Commitment to becoming a stage or film actor
    • Indication of potential to become a director in any of the four named media
    • Commitment to and support of the MSUM theatre/film programs and to the other students majoring in the programs

    Mark Lukac had a zest for and a love of life, an incomparable sense of humor, along with a love of people and a desire to be of help to them. With these traits in addition to the above, the total should be taken as usually strong qualifications. Financial need of an applicant will be considered only if two or more candidates for the scholarship have seemingly equal qualifications, in which case financial need will be considered as an additional positive factor.

    The Colleen Moore Scholarship is awarded to an outstanding female Film Studies student to assist in the creation of film/video work or to assist with costs of attending a conference. Scholarship amounts vary based on need.

    An endowed fund established to honor the legacy of Professor Ted Larson, used at the discretion of the Film program to promote and preserve film as a medium with which to educate Film majors and engage in scholarly and creative research.

    An endowment fund established in 2008, in the memory of Professor Harold “Rusty” Casselton, to continue the mission of the Film program and the education of Film majors.

    This scholarship is awarded to Graphic Design majors that are actively involved in the student organization SPECTRUM and work to improve school climate for all students, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity/expression.

    This scholarship is for students at the Junior or Senior class level seeking a degree in Graphic Design. Financial need and good academic standing will be taken into consideration.

    *An evaluation of financial need is done through a review of FAFSA information (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) that has been provided to the MSUM Office of Scholarship and Financial Aid. If you have not completed a FAFSA form already, you can do so at