School of Teaching & Learning Faculty & Staff

  • MSUM's School of Teaching & Learning faculty and staff are experienced teaching in early education, elementary and secondary classrooms, accessible and eager to share their experience with you.

  • John Benson
    PhD, MA, BS, BA
    Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    bensonj@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2012
    Office: LO 214E
    Deanne Borgeson
    PhD, MS, BS
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    borgeson@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2002
    Office: LO 216E
    Boyd Bradbury
    PhD
    Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    bradbury@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2471
    Office: LO 214N
    Abigail Bremer
    MA, BS
    Assistant Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    abigail.bremer@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2017
    Office: LO 216E
    Layna Cole
    PhD, MS, BA
    Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    colela@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2545
    Office: LO 216J
    Diane Copple
    OAS Senior, School of Teaching & Learning
    School of Teaching and Learning
    coppled@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2013
    Office: LO 214A
    Michael Coquyt
    MA, BA
    Assistant Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    michael.coquyt@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2019
    Office: LO 216C
    Keri DeSutter
    PhD, MS, BA
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    desutter@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.5942
    Office: LO 211H
    Erin Gillett
    PhD
    Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    gillett@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.4330
    Office: LO 216D
    Marci Glessner
    PhD, MS
    Assistant Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    marci.glessner@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2727
    Office: LO 214J
    Tracy Heng
    OAS Senior, Field Experiences
    School of Teaching and Learning
    Student Teaching or Field Experience Paperwork, Background S...
    hengt@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2217
    Office: LO 211G
    Lacey Hoppe
    MS
    Director, Early Education Center | Adjunct Faculty
    Early Education Center (Childcare) | School of Teaching and Learning
    lacey.hoppe@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2214
    Office: LO 84
    Lynn Johnson
    MS, BA
    Instructor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    lynn.johnson@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2216
    Shirley Johnson
    PhD, MS, BS
    Assistant Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    johnssh@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2727
    Office: LO 216L
    David Kupferman
    PhD, MA, BA
    Assistant Professor of Social Foundations of Education
    School of Teaching and Learning
    david.kupferman@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2216
    Office: LO 214
    Courtney LaLonde
    PhD, MS, BS
    Instructor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    courtney.lalonde@mnstate.edu | Office: 218-477-4278
    Office: LO 214C
    Lynn Mahlum
    PhD
    Director of Field Experiences and SARTE | Adjunct Faculty
    School of Teaching and Learning
    Student teaching and practicum experiences, Student Teaching...
    mahlumly@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2256
    Office: LO 211E
    Sheila Marquardt
    PhD, MA, BA
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    sheila.marquardt@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2896
    Office: LO 216Q
    Danielle Parenteau
    MS
    Instructor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    danielle.parenteau@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2023
    Office: LO 214P
    Sung Ok (Reina) Park
    PhD, MEd, BA
    Assistant Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    Valerie Ritland
    PhD
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    ritland@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2546
    Office: LO 216B
    Peggy Rittenhouse
    PhD, MS, BME
    Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    rittenps@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2004
    Office: LO 216P
    Brian Smith
    PhD, MAT, BS, AA
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    Brian Smith, Associate Professor, Educational Foundations; P...
    brian.smith@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2697
    Office: LO 216K
    Lisa Staiger
    MS, BS
    Assistant Director of Field Experience | Adjunct Faculty
    School of Teaching and Learning
    Elementary or Early Childhood Student Teaching, Embedded Fie...
    staigerl@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2696
    Office: LO 211F
    Ximena Suarez-Sousa
    PhD
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    suarez@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2007
    Office: LO 211C
    Julie Swaggert
    EdD, MS, BA
    Associate Professor
    School of Teaching and Learning
    julie.swaggert@mnstate.edu | Phone: 218.477.2898
    Office: LO 214D