Distinguished Alumni Awards

  • The MSUM Alumni Foundation seeks to recognize and honor accomplished alumni. We are proud of your success, and in turn, proud of the role MSUM has played in your lives. While many are deserving of recognition, only a select few are chosen each year. Each recipient exemplifies the high standards we have come to expect from graduates of Minnesota State University Moorhead and each has made significant contributions to the communities where they reside and work.

    Nominations may be submitted throughout the year, with review and selection occurring in the early spring. Nomination deadline for Distinguished Alumni 2020 is 12/31/2019. Recipients are honored at the Distinguished Alumni Awards ceremony, an integral part of Homecoming festivities.

    Nominations are accepted for the following categories of recognition:

    • Distinguished Alumni Award - recipients are typically at the peak of their professional careers. More than one alumnus may be selected.
    • Outstanding Young Alumni – recipients are graduates of the past decade with notable career or community impact.
    • Outstanding Service Award - recipients have given a significant contribution of time and talent to MSUM.

    To nominate an MSUM alumnus for a Distinguished Alumni Award, please complete the online form. For more information feel free to contact us.

    Alumni Award Nomination Form Past Alumni Awards

    2019 Night of Distinction: Distinguished Alumni, Service and Donor Celebration

    Minnesota State University Moorhead will recognize outstanding alumni and donors at the Night of Distinction: Distinguished Alumni, Service and Donor Celebration Thursday, Oct. 3, 2019 in the Comstock Memorial Union Ballroom. Please click below to register for this year's event and choose your meal choices.


    David Foss '85 (computer science)

    Cheryl Hughes '82 (management) 

    Nicole Kivisto '95 (accounting)

    Jeff Smedsrud '81 (mass communications and American studies)

    Outstanding Service Award 

    Scott Nelson '74 (accounting) 

    Outstanding Young Alumni Award

    Robert Haas '09 (economics)

    Distinguished Donor Awards



    Alumni Award Nomination Form Past Alumni Awards