background image
  • Meet the Dragon Mentors

Learning Communities

  •  
  • Meet the Dragon Mentors

    Art/Art Education

    Taryn Halterman Taryn Halterman
    haltermata@mnstate.edu

    I'm Taryn and I'm the Art and Art Education Dragon Mentor! I'm currently a Sophomore majoring in Art with and emphasis in Graphic Design. In my free time I can be found at the gym taking a yoga class or in the woods on a hiking trail. Before I graduate I hope to be able to utilize our campuses great travel abroad program and experience going to school in a different country!  

    Biosciences/Chemistry

    Clarice Wallert Clarice Wallert
    wallertcl@mnstate.edu

    I am currently a junior studying Biochemistry/Biotechnology; pre-medicine and I would like to become an Osteopathic doctor. I am currently involved with cancer research, a volunteer at Sandford Hospice, a Teacher’s Assistant, and a member of Tri-Beta. In my free time I like to watch Netflix and just relax, but I also have a love of animals and enjoy horseback riding. Before I graduate I plan to attend a national research conference in San Diego this spring. I would also love to travel overseas for a spring break trip.  

    Diversity In Action

    Ben Taylor Ben Taylor
    taylorben@mnstate.edu

    My name is Ben and I am a sophomore studying Earth Science Education here at MSUM. I plan to teach middle and high school science. On campus I am a Dragon Mentor for the Diversity LLC, I am also a Success Adviser with the ODI, and am a member of the National Honor Society. In my free time I love to play baseball, bike, read and garden. Before I graduate I would like to speak in front of our student body! 

    Education

    Lauren Kessler Lauren Kessler
    kesslerla@mnstate.edu 

    My name is Lauren Kessler and I was born in Omaha, NE but raised in Fargo, ND. I am an only child and from the earliest age have wanted to be a teacher. I am a junior double majoring in Early Childhood and Elementary Inclusive Education and work part time at a daycare in Fargo. At MSUM I have been involved in Learning Communities, Chi Alpha, and Education Minnesota Student Program. In my free time I enjoy listening to music (especially country), dirt track racing, watching TV, and hanging out with friends. My motto in life is Live, Laugh, Love as I believe it is best to live life to the fullest while surrounding yourself with people who laugh and love alongside you.  

    Exploration

    Emily Bublitz Emily Bublitz
    bublitzem@mnstate.edu

    I am currently a junior pursuing a degree in Psychology and Communication Studies. After I graduate, I hope to further my education by going to graduate school and pursuing a doctorate in something that I don’t know yet. I am employed with South Dakota Game, Fish, & Parks in Watertown, SD and I LOVE my job! During the school year, I am involved in National Residence Hall Honorary, Alpha Lambda Delta, and am a Dragon Mentor. Last year I was a RA and made a lot of new friends! In my free time I enjoy running, fishing, camping, and spending time with my family and friends. Some of my plans are before I graduate is to study abroad. I love meeting new people and trying new things!   

    Honors

    Nicole Olson Nicole Olson
    olsonni@mnstate.edu

    I am a sophomore and an Art major with an emphasis in Graphic Design. I am rather undecided, but as of now the plan is to move to the cities and get a graphic design job there after graduation. Besides being a Dragon Mentor, I also work in the Academic Support Center and volunteer five hours a week for my Honors Apprenticeship. In my free time I love to do anything with friends - whether it is sitting and watching movies, or walking to and playing at the park. Before I graduate I hope to have as many of the experiences college has to offer as possible. This is a time in your life like no other, and I intend to make the most of it.   

    Film

    Rachel Olson-Baer Rachel Olson-Baer
    olsonbara@mnstate.edu

    Hello everyone, my name is Rachel Olson-Baer and I will be the Dragon Mentor for the Film Learning Community this year. I am a second year student studying Art with an emphasis in illustration. One day I'd like to illustrate and or write books. In my free time I enjoy biking and hiking as well as reading and movie watching. This fall, you will most likely find me hanging out in or around the residence halls or the CMU. Before I graduate, I plan to make lasting connections with staff and students here at MSUM while learning as much as I can.   

    Leadership

    Katherine Beneby Katherine Beneby
    benebyka@mnstate.edu  
     
    I am currently a senior studying Mass Communications with an emphasis in Multimedia Journalism. I am also a Leadership studies minor and my goal is to continue to impact the lives of others. I am currently the Marketing Coordinator for the Dragon Entertainment Group, a Media Assistant for Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship, a member of Student Today, Leader and a member of the International Student Organization. I am also excited to be a Dragon Mentor for the Leadership Learning Community. In my free time I like to stay active and be involved. I also enjoy hanging out with friends and meeting new people. Some plans of what I want to do before I graduate include studying abroad and I would also like to begin to learn a second language. 

    Speech Language Hearing Sciences

    Annie Hockhalter Annie Hockhalter
    hockhaltan@mnstate.edu 

    Hello! My name is Annie Hockhalter and I am a Junior at MSUM. I am majoring in Speech Language Hearing Sciences and I hope to someday work in a school or daycare-like setting. I am a Dragon Mentor for the SLHS learning community and I am also a Peer Advisor. I love doing crafts in my free time and I enjoy being outdoors! Before I graduate, I would love to do a run in Fargo, Run or Dye looks so fun! 

    Technology

    McKayla Glasser McKayla Glasser
    glassermc@mnstate.edu 

    I am a sophomore and study Business Administration with emphasis in International Business here at MSUM. Along with serving as a Dragon Mentor, I am involved in the Honors Program, Dragon Leadership Program, and works as a Dragon Ambassador. In my free time, I enjoy reading, music, cooking, and hanging out with friends. Before graduating, I hope to study abroad in England at the University of Portsmouth and travel with the School of Business to China.  

    Theatre/Music/Graphic Communications

    Briana Rabenberg Briana Rabenberg
    rabenberbr@mnstate.edu 

    I'm from Sisseton, South Dakota and I'm currently a sophomore majoring in Sociology with a minor in Women's and Gender Studies. I'm a member of the American Indian Student Association and hope to become more involved on and off campus this year. In my free time I like to watch movies, make arts and crafts, bake, and I really enjoy reading. Before I graduate I would like to try new things, make new friends, and feel like I had an impact at MSUM and the F/M community.