On April 24, 1967, the Comstock Memorial Union opened its doors to the Minnesota State University Moorhead community. The student union was dedicated on February 14, 1968 and named after the Comstock family of Moorhead. Solomon G. Comstock is considered the "Father" of our campus because he successfully persuaded the Minnesota State Legislature to build the state's fourth "normal school" here in 1885. Comstock even donated the six acres upon which Moorhead State Normal School (now Minnesota State University Moorhead) was founded. Comstock's son, George M. Comstock, was an MSUM Resident Director from 1943-1951.
From the CMU's very beginning, students were instrumental in creating a student union on our campus. In the mid-1950s, students began fund-raising efforts to build a space that would be the "living room" of campus. In 1961, students began paying a fee of $5 per academic quarter to fund the student union; however, construction on the CMU did not start until April of 1966. In other words, students thought having a union was important enough for future generations of MSUM students and decided to help fund the CMU, even though the CMU would not be built before many of the students voting for a fee increase had graduated.
The Union logo symbolizes the Union's goal: that individuals will learn, test and acquire skills, knowledge, and experience through their involvement with the Union. The logo is made up of three intersecting arrows. The arrows are open at the base, indicating the different ways people access the Union. The point where the arrows converge and interface symbolizes the interaction between the people, the Union facility, the services, and the programs that occur here daily. The tops of the arrows are closed and pointed, symbolizing our hope that students will establish a greater sense of direction and a continuing ability to accomplish their goals as they leave the organization.