background image
  • Scholarships

School of Media Arts & Design

  • School of Media Arts & Design Scholarships

    MSUM offers a variety of Media Arts & Design scholarships for current and incoming students. Scholarships are listed below. Students can also apply for general university scholarships through the Financial Aid and Scholarship Office.

    MSUM School of Media Arts & Design Scholarship

    The department has a competitive, yet generous scholarship program. A cumulative GPA of 3.0 and outstanding achievement in academics, artistic/creative activities, and/or department service are required to be eligible for the scholarships. Download the scholarship application using the links below. The deadline for applying is usually around mid-February. Please see the application for specific details and deadlines.

    Ted Larson Endowment

    An endowed fund established to honor the legacy of Professor Ted Larson, used at the discretion of the Film program to promote and preserve film as a medium with which to educate Film majors and engage in scholarly and creative research.

    Rusty Casselton Endowment

    An endowment fund established in 2008, in the memory of Professor Harold “Rusty” Casselton, to continue the mission of the Film program and the education of Film majors.

    Delmar J. Hansen

    These scholarships are made possible by donations to the Delmar J. Hansen endowment fund by faculty, staff, alumni, and friends of the department. The program recognizes outstanding academic achievement as well as contributions to the department and community through leadership and active participation in events and organizations. The scholarship honors the man who served as Director of Theatre at MSUM from 1957 to 1989.

    Mark Lukac Memorial Endowment

    These scholarships in Theatre and Film is an endowed fund which was established in memory of Mark Robert Lukac, who was a member in good standing of the MSUM Class of 1991 at the time of his sudden, accidental death on April 8, 1990. This scholarship shall be awarded to a major who is studying theatre or film on the basis of the following:

    • General artistic creativity
    • Acting ability
    • Desire to be a performer
    • Number of student theatre, film, and/or television performances, with quality of performance more important than level of the role
    • Commitment to becoming a stage or film actor
    • Indication of potential to become a director in any of the four named media
    • Commitment to and support of the MSUM theatre/film programs and to the other students majoring in the programs

    Mark Lukac had a zest for and a love of life, an incomparable sense of humor, along with a love of people and a desire to be of help to them. With these traits in addition to the above, the total should be taken as usually strong qualifications. Financial need of an applicant will be considered only if two or more candidates for the scholarship have seemingly equal qualifications, in which case financial need will be considered as an additional positive factor.

    Carol Gaede

    The Carol Gaede Scholarship Award was established to honor Dr. Carol Gaede for her long standing commitment to excellence and learning in the disciplines of Communication Studies, Film and Theatre Arts. The scholarship is a financial award that honors academic, artistic/creative, and/or service achievement in a student who is a declared major. For additional information about these scholarships and awards, contact your advisor.

    Freshman Talent Scholarship

    Freshman talent scholarships can be awarded to incoming freshmen. They are available to high school seniors planning to enroll at Minnesota State University Moorhead.

    Larsen Design Scholarship

    Jay Theige Memorial Scholarships

    Graphic design or Interactive Media Major

    Scholarship Applications

    Freshman Scholarship Application
    Department Scholarship Application
    Financial Aid Scholarships 

  • Student Video

    Sarah Palm, Film Studies Major

    Sarah Palm
  • Media Arts & Design Scholarships
    Alumni Summit
    Alumni Summit - highlight