background image
  • Alumni Awards
  • Alumni & Friends

  • Distinguished Alumni Awards

    The MSUM Alumni Foundation seeks to recognize and honor accomplished alumni. We are proud of your success, and in turn, proud of the role MSUM has played in your lives. While many are deserving of recognition, only a select few are chosen each year. Each recipient exemplifies the high standards we have come to expect from graduates of Minnesota State University Moorhead and each has made significant contributions to the communities where they reside and work.

    Nominations may be submitted throughout the year, with review and selection occurring in the spring. Recipients are honored at the Distinguished Alumni Awards ceremony, an integral part of Homecoming festivities. The 2014 ceremony will be held Friday, September 26th, 2014.

    Nominations are accepted the following categories of recognition:

    Distinguished Alumni Award - are typically at the peak of their professional careers. More than one alumnus may be selected.

    Outstanding Young Alumni – one up and coming alumni graduate of the past decade is recognized as making notable career or community impact.

    Outstanding Service Award is given to one individual who has made a significant contribution of time and talent to MSUM.

    To nominate an MSUM alumnus for a 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award, please complete the online form here. For more information feel free to email or call 218.477.2143.

  • 2013 Alumni Awards

    Minnesota State University Moorhead presented alumni awards to seven of its graduates at the Distinguished Alumni & Outstanding Service Celebration Friday, Sept. 27 at the Courtyard by Marriott in Moorhead. Recipients were:

    • Bob Bowlsby ’75 (health and physical education)
    • Christina Broadwell ’00 (biology)
    • Bob Mikkelson ’72 (mass communications)
    • Gregory Smogard ’72 (history)
    • Evelyn Quigley ’82 (nursing)
    • Emily Beck ’06 (film studies)
    • George Sanderson
    • Marlane Sanderson ’77 and ’81 (accounting and master’s in business administration) 

    2013 Awards program

    Past Alumni Awards Programs